Charlotte Bobcats Making History for all the Wrong Reasons.

26 Apr

The 2012 Charlotte Bobcats are on the verge of having the worst winning percentage in NBA history. Their record stands at 7-58 for the season and tonight they try to avoid having the worst winning percentage ever when they face the New York Knicks. With a loss they would pass the 1972-1973 Philadelphia 76ers who currently stand at .110%.

Last night they faced the injury laden and controversial Orlando Magic and they still couldn’t win. The Magic went on a few huge runs, made some shots from behind the arc and the Bobcats were not able to get out a win. It sad to see a team lose so much and so badly but in the world of sports, this is sometimes a reality that many face. It’s good I’m not a coach, because I don’t even know what you would say to a team like this.

Now I don’t want to sit here and criticize the NBA but honestly, the Bobcats’ record just shows the lack of team that is present in the NBA right now. And this very “lack of team effort” is what so many criticize the NBA for on a regular basis. Don’t get me wrong, the NBA has some huge stars and incredible teams. But can you honestly sit here and tell me which team in the NBA is best without shouting out their stars? While stars are present in every sport, it is mostly the NBA that has these star powers who are constantly carrying their teams every night.

The Charlotte Bobcats do have some great star power but it has clearly not been enough. They are a fairly young team and it really just looks like they haven’t learned what playing like a team is about. I’m hoping that this season has been a big learning experience for them because I’m a huge Kemba Walker fan and I would like to see him do well. To quote Gerald Henderson last night, “Nobody in here is used to losing like we have lost this year, it just kind of humbles you and teaches you a lot about what it takes to be successful in this game. It also teaches you what it takes to have a good team in the NBA. It’s a learning process.” This team has a lot of young talent and maybe just maybe they will actually learn from this.

So here’s the thing, it really doesn’t make a difference to me if they win or lose tonight because I think the bigger issue is what this means for the NBA. When teams reach incredible lows like this there are tons of questions that go throughout the mind of fans. We have seen teams in the NFL, MLB, and NHL with tough losing records but none really stand out as much as the losing records that occur in the NBA.

The biggest issue here is the lack of team play in the NBA. I don’t want to sit here and continue to criticize the NBA because I do like sports and I enjoy the NBA playoffs. But the Bobcats really go to show the bigger issue here. Many people, don’t support the NBA because there is such a lack of team. Charlotte is just another example of the NBA’s problem. Lack of team play. Maybe their lack of success will force NBA players to look into the team effort. There are always going to be the star players, but maybe these stars will step up and raise the perception of their team and the overall NBA.

Regardless of the outcome of tonight’s game, the Bobcats have a staunch task ahead of them for next season. They have the best chance for the #1 pick in the draft and can therefore draft the #1 player entering the draft, Anthony Davis (Kentucky). The biggest question then is will Davis be able to help them play as a team? One thing Davis has is the understanding of team basketball that was played at Kentucky. However, his star power coupled with the already existing players of the Bobcats doesn’t necessarily mean they will be automatically good. They need to play as a team before they can be successful.

The NBA is currently about success and money, all sports are, but they are the prime example. The Miami Heat and LA Lakers are examples of successful teams who do so with their star power. Its specifically because of the lack of team present in the NBA, that I rooted for the Mavericks last year.

It is said, “there is no I in team,” an idea that the NBA sometimes fails to recognize. I don’t have an answer to this problem that the NBA faces but I just want it to be known that another sports fan thinks something needs to change. NBA, let the Bobcats be your wake-up call.

15 Responses to “Charlotte Bobcats Making History for all the Wrong Reasons.”

  1. Normally I do not read article on blogs, but I wish to say that this write-up very forced me to try and do it! Your writing style has been surprised me. Thanks, quite great post.

  2. Toshiba Tecra Battery April 27, 2012 at 9:07 am #

    I’m betting MJ steps out the owners booth & suit up for the Bobcats to stop ’em from posting the worst winning percentage in NBA history.

  3. LA Anxiety Therapy April 27, 2012 at 9:05 pm #

    I could not refrain from commenting. Very well written!

  4. Efren Koistinen May 15, 2012 at 1:12 pm #

    I just want to say I am very new to blogging and site-building and honestly savored you’re web-site. Very likely I’m likely to bookmark your site . You surely have terrific article content. Kudos for sharing your web site.

  5. Harold Hermens May 17, 2012 at 8:58 am #

    I just want to tell you that I am just newbie to blogging and site-building and actually loved your website. Very likely I’m want to bookmark your blog . You amazingly have terrific articles. Kudos for sharing with us your web page.

  6. Ben Padstow May 22, 2012 at 1:20 am #

    The first time in years that I have clicked on “I’m Feeling Lucky” and actually got an informative page. Thankyou!

  7. Find Out More May 22, 2012 at 2:41 am #

    Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again soon!

  8. rasoir electrique homme May 23, 2012 at 3:04 am #

    Rattling great information can be found on weblog . “The quality of an organization can never exceed the quality of the minds that make it up.” by Harold R. McAlindon.

  9. ceramic watches May 23, 2012 at 3:42 am #

    Just wanna comment on few general things, The website style and design is perfect, the content material is real excellent. “I have seen the future and it doesn’t work.” by Robert Fulford.

  10. Alain May 23, 2012 at 4:56 am #

    I truly appreciate this post. I’ve been looking everywhere for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You have made my day! Thank you again! “One never goes so far as when one doesn’t know where one is going.” by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe.

  11. Marie May 23, 2012 at 6:30 am #

    Very interesting info!Perfect just what I was looking for!

  12. plancha électrique May 23, 2012 at 9:56 am #

    Absolutely pent written content, Really enjoyed looking at.

  13. barbecue electrique May 23, 2012 at 10:27 am #

    Keep up the great work, I read few blog posts on this site and I conceive that your site is very interesting and holds lots of superb information.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. lingerie-uk/tightsplease/ - May 22, 2012

    If you liked that, you’ll love this!…

    Interesting online post that might have relevance…

  2. Alison Williams - December 26, 2012

    Alison Williams…

    […]u There are certainly quite a lot of particulars like that to take into consi pe[…]…

Leave a Reply

